Sunday, October 2, 2011

National cyclists dominate Tanjung Kidurong mountain bike track

CONGRATULATION: Senator Pau Chiong Ung presents the trophy to the best female cyclist Masziyaton as Mohidin (left) looks on. The best male participant is Shahrin Amir.

VICTORIOUS: Shahrin celebrating his victory

FASTEST FINISHER: Shahrin Amir clocking the fastest time beating 15 other cyclists.


BINTULU: National cyclists dominated both men and women’s open categories of Borneo Mountain Bike (Bintulu) Challenge 2011 at Taman Wisma Bintulu Tanjung Kidurong yesterday.

In the MTB men’s open national cyclist from Amanis team Shahrin Amir clocked the fastest time 1: 50’ 50” to beat his team mate Mohd Fauzan Ahmad Lufti of PDRM to second place by three seconds.

Finishing third was defending champion Muhammad Raihan Abd Aziz from Brunei on 1:51’ 34”.

Coming in fourth to fifth places were Norshahriel Haizat Ahmad Nazali (Malaysia/Polygon), Sylvester Ding (MLNG) and Muhammad Nurjamri Johari (Brunei) respectively.

In the MTB women’s open category another national cyclist from Kedah Masziyaton Mohd Radzi emerged champion clocking 1: 47’ 48”.

Second and third placings were Junaidah Juss (Pligon Arus RT) from Sarawak with time 1: 47’ 55” and Mardiana Mohd Radzi (Kedah GK2 SBS Giant clocking 2: 01’ 01” respectively.

Shahrin when met later said despite of having fever he tried his best to win on his second time participation since 2006.

“The trail in this year’s race is better compared to the previous,” he said.

He added that this championship was just like a warming up event for him and it is satisfying to be the winner.
Meanwhile Masziyaton another national cyclist who won in the women’s open said although the race was her first participation in Sarawak, it proved to be fruitful for her and team-mate Junaidah who finished second.

“I just came back from Pangkor and immediately fly here for this championship.

The trail is quite challenging and it is good exposure for us in preparing for SEA Game,” said the Kedah cyclist.

Other results in the MTB boys under 18, Mohamad Zul Ashraf Zamlan of Kedah finished first. Coming in second and third placings were Ahmad Norhaziq Ajab (Brunei) and Alexi Disi (Bintulu) respectively.

In the MTB men veteran of above 36 , finishing first was Nor Effandy Rosli from Kuala Lumpur, second and third placings were Supian Nor and Patric Siqueen of Kuching.

Zainal Ariffin Mohd Hasbi from Viking Club Kuching emerged the champion in the MTB endurance for men above 46 ,second and third spots went to Wong Siew Ming (KS Maraton Sibu) and Kassim Amizi of Viking Club, Kuching .

The prize giving ceremony was officiated by Senator Pau Chiong Ung and also present was the event coordinator who is also Bintulu Development Authority general manager Datu Mohidin Ishak.

In his speech Mohidin said the championship would be listed in the Bintulu calendar of event as to complement the other two international events, the Borneo International Kite Festival and Lantern Festival.

“That means we are going to have three major events every year and this is good for us in promoting Bintulu as a must go destination for local and international tourist,” he said.

He said the budget would be increased for next year edition in order to improve the quality of the event.

“I hope in the next edition cyclists from our neighbouring countries will also be able to take part as to foster close rapport among the ASEAN countries,” said Mohidin.

The winners from all the categories received cash prizes sponsored by Tune Hotels Bintulu.

About 100 cyclists from Brunei, the peninsular and Sarawak took part in the championship.

The competition is jointly organised by Bintulu Resident’s Office, Bintulu Development Authority, Sarawak State Sports Council (MSN), Malaysian Masters Cycling Association and Bintulu Cycling Club.

No comments:

Post a Comment