Thursday, October 29, 2009

24 receive awards at investiture

BINTULU: The late Datuk Amar Puan Sri Laila Taib was conferred the state award (posthumously) the Datuk Patinggi Bintang Kenyalang (DP) which carries the title ‘Datuk Patinggi’ by the Yang di-Pertua Negeri Tun Datuk Patinggi Abang Muhammad Salahuddin at an investiture ceremony held at a leading hotel here yesterday.

The award was received by her daughter Hanifah Hajar Taib.

Earlier, a citation on the late Laila was read by Senator Dato Sri Empiang Jabu.

The new State Secretary Datuk Mohamad Morshidi Abdul Ghani and Sarawak Foundation chairman cum Tanjung Datu assemblyman Dato Sri Adenan Satem received the Datuk Amar Bintang Kenyalang (DA) which carries the title ‘Datuk Amar’.

They were among the 24 out of the 808 recipients who were conferred various state honours and awards in connection with this year’s Yang di-Pertua Negeri’s 88th birthday celebration centered here.

Three others received the Panglima Negara Bintang Sarawak (PNBS) which carries the title, ‘Dato Sri’.

They are Datuk Douglas Uggah, the Federal Minister of Environment and Natural Resources, who is also Betong MP; Datuk Michael Manyin, Minister of Urban Development and Tourism, who is also Tebedu assemblyman and Attorney-General Tan Sri Abdul Gani Patail.

Those who received the Panglima Gemilang Bintang Kenyalang (PGBK) which carries the title ‘Datuk’ are Assistant Minister in the Chief Minister’s Department Bolhassan Di, who is also Beting Maro assemblyman, Assistant Minister for Tourism Hamden Ahmad, who is also Belawai assemblyman and the Anglican Bishop of Kuching Diocese Right Reverend Bolly Lapok.

Another seven were awarded the Darjah Jasa Bakti Sarawak (DJBS) which carries the title ‘Datu’ and they are Sarudu Hoklai, director of Human Resource Management Unit in the Chief Minister’s Department; Betong Resident Romie Sigan; Masbah Arifin, executive secretary to the State Government Meeting Council; Abu Bakar Mat, state director of National Registration; Mohidin Ishak, general manager of Bintulu Development Authority; Dr Julaihi Bujang, director of the state Education Department and Takun Sunggah, director of the State Election Commission.

Conferred the Panglima Setia Bintang Sarawak (PSBS) which carries the title ‘Dato’ are Datin Amar Dayang Morliah Datuk Awang Daud, wife of Second Minister of Resource Planning and Management, Datuk Amar Awang Tengah Ali Hasan; William Wei, Sarawak Housing Developers’ Association chairman; Sarbanun Datuk Abdul Kadir Marikan, a renowned local singer; Paul Teo Choo Tee, Saberkas deputy secretary-general; Dr Abu Bakar Abdullah @ Tom Belarek, president of Orang Ulu National Association; Mohamad Ramji Alli, an Election Commission member; Bujang Tun Ahmad Zaidi, an entrepreneur and Reverend Dr Su Chii Ann.

There are eight recipients of the Johan Bintang Sarawak (JBS), 10 recipients of the Johan Bintang Kenyalang (JBK), eight recipients of the Pingat Perkhidmatan Cemerlang (Gold) (PPC), 20 recipients of the Pegawai Bintang Sarawak (PBS), 42 recipients of the Pegawai Bintang Kenyalang (PBK), 68 recipients of the Pingat Perkhidmatan Bakti (Silver) (PPB), 195 recipients of the Ahli Bintang Sarawak (ABS), one recipient of the Ahli Bintang Kenyalang (ABK) (Posthumous), 64 recipients of the Ahli Bintang Kenyalang (ABK), 105 recipients of Pingat Perkhidmatan Terpuji (Bronze) (PPT), and 262 recipients of the Bentara Bintang Sarawak (BBS).

Present at the ceremony were wife of the Head of State Toh Puan Datuk Patinggi Norkiah, Chief Minister Pehin Sri Abdul Taib Mahmud, deputy chief ministers Datuk Patinggi Tan Sri Dr George Chan and Datuk Patinggi Tan Sri Alfred Jabu, Senator Dato Sri Empiang Jabu, Speaker of the State Legislative Assembly Dato Sri Mohd Asfia Awang Nassar, state cabinet ministers, deputy ministers and heads of government departments and statutory bodies.

No comments:

Post a Comment