Monday, April 20, 2009

Marine Police retain Petronas Cup title

TWO-TIME-CHAMPIONS: Marine Police players and officials celebrate after their penalty shoot-out win over MLNG

BINTULU: Marine Police once again stamped their authority, winning for the second consecutive year, the 15th edition of the Petronas Cup football tournament.

They beat MLNG 7-6 in a penalty shoot-out in the final on Saturday, thus maintaining their unbeaten run in the tournament.

Both teams were tied 1-1 after normal play with goals from Andy Kaso Sia (Marine Police) in 40th minute and Jery Ijau (MLNG) in 75th.

“Both teams had equal chances in the game, even in the penalty shoot-out. We were fortunate to have scored the first goal to give the boys confidence,” said Marine Police head coach Abdullah Tuah after the game.

“We created many chances but the superb performance of the MLNG goalkeeper stood in our way to achieve early victory. The goalie was good, even the penalty shoot-out looked like it never ended,” said Abdullah, who played in the defence for his team last year.

As the champions, Marine Police walked away with RM3,000, a challenge trophy and medals while MLNG took home RM2,000, a trophy and medals. The semi-finalists received RM500 each.

Joseph Sia (Marine Police) with 12 goals was named top player while the man of the match award went to MLNG’s Raini Razmi.

Thirteen teams took part in the tournament.

Jepak assemblyman Datuk Talip Zulpilip and Petronas regional general manager Mosir Hamid gave away prizes to the winners at the closing ceremony, which was also attended by senior officers from Petronas and MLNG.

No comments:

Post a Comment